načítání...


menu
nákupní košík
Košík

je prázdný
a
b

Kniha: The Combinations – Louis Armand

The Combinations
-16%
sleva

Kniha: The Combinations
Autor: Louis Armand

IS THIS THE ULTIMATE “PRAGUE NOVEL”? Shortlisted for the 2016 Not the Booker prize. The “European anti-novel” in all its unrepentant glory is here in The Combinations, following in the tradition of Sterne, Rabelais, Cervantes, Joyce, Perec. ... (celý popis)
Titul doručujeme za 3 pracovní dny
Jazyk: anglicky
Vaše cena s DPH:  500 Kč 420
+
-
rozbalKdy zboží dostanu
14
bo za nákup
rozbalVýhodné poštovné: 49Kč
rozbalOsobní odběr zdarma

hodnoceni - 0%hodnoceni - 0%hodnoceni - 0%hodnoceni - 0%hodnoceni - 0%   celkové hodnocení
0 hodnocení + 0 recenzí

Specifikace
Nakladatelství: » Spolek pro Prahu literární
Médium / forma: Tištěná kniha
Rok vydání: 2016
Počet stran: 888
Rozměr: 197 x 140 x 55 mm
Úprava: 888, xxxviii stran: ilustrace
Vydání: 2nd edition
Skupina třídění: Anglická próza
Jazyk: anglicky
Vazba: Knihy - paperback
Datum vydání: 20. 11. 2016
ISBN: 978-0-9931955-5-6
EAN: 9780993195556
Popis

IS THIS THE ULTIMATE “PRAGUE NOVEL”?

Shortlisted for the 2016 Not the Booker prize.

The “European anti-novel” in all its unrepentant glory is here in The Combinations, following in the tradition of Sterne, Rabelais, Cervantes, Joyce, Perec. Kafka’s The Trial meets Robert Musil’s The Man Without Qualities.

In 8 octaves, 64 chapters and 888 pages, Louis Armand’s The Combinations is an unprecedented “work of attempted fiction” that combines the beauty & intellectual exertion that is chess with the panorama of futility & chaos that is Prague (a.k.a. “Golem City”), across the 20th-century and before/after. Golem City, the ship of fools boarded by the famed D’s (e.g. John) and K’s (e.g. Edward) of the 16th/17th centuries (who attempted and failed to turn lead into gold), and the infamous H’s (e.g. Adolf, e.g. Reinhard) of the 20th (who attempted and succeeded in turning flesh into soap). Armand’s prose weaves together the City’s thousand-and-one fascinating tales with a deeply personal account of one lost soul set adrift amid the early-90s’ awakening from the nightmare that was the previous half-century of communist Mitteleuropa. The Combinations is a text whose 1) erudition dazzles, 2) structure humbles, 3) monotony never bores, 4) humour disarms, 5) relentlessness overwhelms, 6) storytelling captivates, 7) poignancy remains poignant, and 8) style simply never exhausts itself. Your move, Reader.

Kniha je zařazena v kategoriích
Louis Armand - další tituly autora:
The Return of Kral Majales - Prague´s International Literary Renaissance 1990-2010 : An Anthology The Return of Kral Majales
Snídaně o půlnoci Snídaně o půlnoci
Videology 2 Videology 2
City Primeval - New York, Berlin, Prague City Primeval
Cairo Cairo
 
Recenze a komentáře k titulu
Zatím žádné recenze.




       
Knihkupectví Knihy.ABZ.cz – online prodej | ABZ Knihy, a.s.